Making an Impact

We make an effort to make a positive impact in our community and the world at large.

We are aware of the way our projects touch the lives of those that use them and effect the environments that they exist within. It is our ongoing intention to develop spaces that positively impact the ecological, economical and humanitarian state of the communities we engage with.

“WKMC has distinguished itself by taking charge and leading the rapidly growing & changing Corpus Christi community in a comprehensive planning evolution.”

– Captain Rocco Montesano

community service projects

“With WKMC’s help we have replaced almost every building at camp…Since, WKMC involvement in our projects we have more than tripled our yearly attendance at camp. Many of our campers and parents have stated that the quality design of our new buildings is a major factor of why they chose our camp.

It has been a true pleasure working with WKMC Architects in the development of our facilities. They have shown a true commitment to the youth of our program and our community.”

-Manuel Ramos, Scout Executive/Executive Director

Sustainable Design

At WKMC, we honor work that contributes, by its design, to the creation of a sustainable world. Our role in partnering with you is to design your built environment to enhance the health of your tenants, visitors and other users. Clients and design professionals who have adopted “cleaner and greener” principles lead the way. Energy efficient and environmentally responsible projects create sustainable development that should repair and protect local and global ecosystems for future generations.

An integrated team approach, from project inception to completion, is necessary to maximize sustainable benefits while minimizing the risk of ineffective and costly buildings. Good green design requires coordinated input from all key constituents – architects, interior designers, engineers, site planners, building owners, facilities managers, users and occupants, manufacturers, utility companies, and others.

Horace B. McCord Memorial Scholarship

Since 2000, WKMC has awarded the Horace B. McCord Scholarship to a promising junior, senior or graduate level architecture student at Texas A&M University or The University of Texas at Austin.

This year’s recipient is George Lopez from Texas A&M University at College Station.  He is working on his Master of Architecture. Congrats George!

Past Horace B. McCord Memorial Scholarship Recipients:

2017/2018 – Sydney Ritter – The University of Texas at Austin

2016/2017 – Jonathan Tellez – Texas A&M University, College Station

2015/2016 – Shelley McDavid, M. Arch – The University of Texas at Austin

2014/2015 – Ann Keese, B.E.D. – Texas A&M University

2013/2014 – Joanna Rhnee Spencer, B. Arch – The University of Texas at Austin

2012/2013 – Robyn B. Beatty – Texas A&M University

2011/2012 – Higinio Turrubiates, Jr., B. Arch; M. Arch – The University of Texas at Austin

2010/2011 – Luis Martinez, M. Arch – Texas A&M University

2008/2009 – William L. Huie – The University of Texas at Austin

2007/2008 – Melissa Hudson – Texas A&M University

2006/2007 – Vilmar Morgan – The University of Texas at Austin

2005/2006 – Rebekah Negrete – Texas A&M University

2004/2005 – Laura Caffrey – The University of Texas at Austin

2003/2004 – Yolanda Izaguirre – Texas A&M University

2001/2002 – Jamie Leigh Melaragno – The University of Texas at Austin

2000/2001 – Edelmiro Escamilla – Texas A&M University

WKMC Architects Scholarship – Del Mar College

Since 2002, WKMC has awarded the WKMC Architects Scholarship to a second year Architectural Drafting Technology student demonstrating the need for financial assistance.

Congratulations to the 2019/2020 recipients – Jacob Harris and Bobby Vasquez!

Past WKMC Architects Scholarship Recipients:

Left to Right: Bill T. Wilson II, FAIA, Jacob Harris, Bobby Vasquez, Connie Rivera, AIA

2017/2018 –Darcy Letson

2016/2017 – Angelina Garcia and Brian DeLong

2015/2016 – Melanie Renee Getman-Villarreal

2014/2015 – Denis Imelda Gonzalez (Garcia)

2013/2014 – Adolfo R. Sanchez

2010/2011 – Victoria Howard

2009/2010 – Lucino Anguiano

2006/2007 – Joseph Mondragon

2005/2006 – Kimberly Pryor

2004/2005 – Brenda Tovar

2003/2004 – Lorenzo Martinez, Jr.